When there was only 150…

12 Feb

With the release of Pokemon Black and White coming this March, the total number of Pokemon now stands at around 650 kinds(a little crazy isn’t it?).  Including the remakes of older generation games, the official total of versions now stands at 19.  However, we older gamers should know what paved the way for what Pokemon is today.

Pokemon Red/Blue Box Covers

The famous two game boxes that ignited the Pokefever in North America

Back in 2001, I received my first Gameboy; a transparent blue Gameboy Advance, and a copy of Pokemon Blue for Christmas from my parents. It had been placed in a large box and weighed down with several heavy books to throw off and chance of guessing what was inside of it. It was a gift that I treasured and still consider it my favorite gift to date. In fact, I still have the copy of Pokemon Blue that I got all those years ago (the GBA wore out from age and use).  Even though these two games are considered old and out-of-date, they are the cornerstones that made Pokemon what it is (along with Yellow in 1999 and the Japanese Green version).

Pokemon_Red_Screenshot

The beginning of many hours of gameplay started right here! Who did you choose? Bulbasaur? Chamander? Or was it Squirtle?

I know I spent many long hours playing this game while traveling to my grandparent’s homes, after school, and whenever I wasn’t busy doing something else.  I mean what kid who owned this game wouldn’t have?  Even though today, the game (and many of my older games) sit around and collect dust due to not being played, I know I would  not give the game away or sell it.  It’s become a memento of  a childhood memory, an item of immeasurable personal value (I have other items like that as well).

With that note, please feel free to leave a comment about something that you keep as a memento from your childhood that you still have today or would buy if you came across it while shopping.

I won’t be posting anything new until next month probably due to the fact that I’ll be too busy or be out of internet connectivity until then.  Also I’d like to direct anyone who reads this over to Radiant Dreamer.  He’s an amazing artist and an avid anime figure collector with some kind of insightful topic in his weekly post, plus videos of awe-inducing art he’s produced on YouTube (also weekly).

3 Responses to “When there was only 150…”

  1. Miette-chan Monday, Feb. 14th, 2011 at 2:18 AM #

    Mine was option D, I chose Pikachu. Hmm…more like I didn’t have choice. Pokemon Yellow holds so many memories for me, my first Gameboy, my first Pokemon game and my first foray into serious handheld gaming.

    • Neorecon19 Monday, Feb. 14th, 2011 at 6:32 PM #

      For me it was either Bulbasaur or Squirtle. I almost ran the batteries dry on the Gameboy the day I got it 🙂

  2. radiant Wednesday, Feb. 16th, 2011 at 8:51 PM #

    hey congrats on getting your blog up! Hope to see some good things from you. 🙂

    I never got into pokemon, but Pikachu is definitely my favorite. If I was playing, I probably would have gone with miette-chan’s choice.

Leave a Reply

